LIFE happens FAST

According to the Mayan Calendar, today was a day of Challenge. You may have felt it or encountered it in your days too. Here’s what happened in mine:

I had carefully planned out my day, I was fully focused and well intentioned or so I thought.

Gleefully on my way to my destiny (an interview for a new job) the rain came down, every drop tapping against the roof of my car and splashing on my windshield. My wipers screeched back and forth and I thought, how silly it is that Arizona Drivers get so caught up in the rain. Interesting thought.

As I approached the freeway, I looked down at my phone for directions. And as I looked up, suddenly LIFE happened and FAST…

SCREEEECCCCCHHHHHH – BAM!

My breaks had lost traction, my car had slid against the wet city streets and I had just hit the rear fender of the stopped car in front of me.

OUCH.

The rain continued to fall. Shaking I got out of the car and spoke with the driver I had hit…he and his girlfriend were okay. I was okay. Thank the Heavens.

We pulled over into a nearby garage and sorted the incident out, Police Report, Insurance Claim, Parents, the whole Enchilada.

But this moment was more than any accident. It changed my life forever.

Because in this moment, though no one was hurt and there was minimal property damage, I learned to value life, for others and for myself.

I drive everyday, without a single thought or hestitaiton. I text, call, check Facebook and above all, I look up directions WHILE I’m driving. And I am not alone, so many of us do and we know we shouldn’t but Life happens Fast and we want to get to our business Fast too. 

I wish I had learned this lesson previously but many of us don’t learn lessons until they hit us (literally).

I vow to never use my phone while my car is in motion again.

Maybe others are capable of it, but I’m not willing to risk my life and more importantly others because of my own negligence. I want to be a responsible and safe driver.

I value TODAY. I value TOMORROW and I value a Long life full of hope and promise. There will be many many opportunities in your life, you may be on your way to one right now. But if you aren’t present in this moment, there won’t be a next. Your present step dictates your future steps, so be aware.

You’re important, Your life is important and Life happens too Fast for it to be taken away in an instant.

I love you all and am grateful for this lesson, I hope we can all learn together.

with grace & gratitude,

travelgem

Leave a comment